top of page

Tourism Sector Resumes In CMCO States Today

Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Yaakob said yesterday that two further economic sectors, tourism and culture, could be reopened today in states under the CMCO during a press conference yesterday.

Although the sector is open, note that these two sectors, such as recreational parks, theme parks and zoos, can only operate at half their capacity and must comply with CMCO standard operating procedures (SOP).

Meanwhile, travel in and out of states under a movement control order (MCO) and areas under an enhanced movement control order (EMCO) remains restricted.

He added that border crossings and domestic tourism involving foreigners in states currently observing an MCO are also not allowed.

States that will come under the CMCO from tomorrow are: Kedah, Perak, Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Negri Sembilan, Melaka and Sabah. Sarawak is already under the CMCO.

Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Johor and Penang will remain under the movement control order (MCO) for another two weeks until March 4 while Perlis is the only state that will observe SOP under the recovery movement control order (RMCO) phase from February 19.

In short; those who are in stares other than KL, Selangor, Johor and Penang are allowed to travel WITHIN their own states only.



Related Articles

bottom of page